Scott (RP Motorsport) extends period of dominance at Silverstone


Scott achieves his second Grand Chelem of the weekend to further extend his series lead. DeFrancesco (Carlin) and Fittje (Fortec Motorsports) also stepped onto the rostrum second and third respectively. DeFrancesco claimed Rookies’ class win ahead of Fittje and Troitskiy (Drivex)

Harrison Scott (RP Motorsport) extends his points lead in the Euroformula Open win with his 8th win of the season at Silverstone today. Scott repeated another triumph in dominant fashion at his home round following his first place on Saturday. It was still a thrilling day of close racing with no less than twelve drivers fighting for podium or top-ten places.

In the morning, local hero Scott grabbed his seventh pole position of the season. In his RP Motorsport-run Dallara F312 clocked a lap time of 1:51.880 and put himself in a very good positon to take home another race win. Devlin DeFrancesco (Carlin) also sealed a spot on the front row. Alex Karkosik (RP Motorsport) and Jannes Fittje (Fortec Motorsports) took up Sunday’s race from the second row on the grid. Nikita Troitskiy (Drivex) started from fifth alongside Matheus Iorio (Campos Racing). His fellow countryman at Campos Racing Thiago Vivacqua rolled of the starting grid seventh ahead of Ben Hingeley (Fortec Motorsports). Further adrift, Cameron Das (Campos Racing) and Petru Florescu (Fortec Motorsports) rounded off the top-ten.

When the lights went out, Scott moved to the right to fend off DeFrancesco heading into T1. DeFrancesco made a great race start but he couldn’t pass Scott for the lead. Behind, Troitskiy moved up to third ahead of Fittje, who also overtook Karkosik. Behind, Thiago Vivacqua (Campos Racing) and Ben Hingeley (Fortec Motorsport) were the running order in 6th and 7th place.

Repeating the strong performance of the previous day, Scott pulled away to a 3 second lead in the first laps. DeFrancesco was also building a 3-second gap but Troitskiy dropped to fourth as Fittje passed on lap 3. Hingeley emerged as another hard charger in the field and made his way to fifth ahead of Karkosik, Vivacqua and Vaidynathan.

Despite Scott and DeFrancesco had consolidated their first and second places respectively, the stakes were still high for third place. Fittje was forced to keep his teammate Hingeley at bay in the closing minutes. Hingeley previously made a pass on Troitskiy for fourth place on lap 9 but he had no time to charge for a podium finish.

After 15 laps, Scott crossed the finish line eleven seconds ahead of the competition. DeFrancesco took second and Fittje held off Hingeley for third. Troitskiy came fifth ahead of Karkosik. Vivacqua and Ameya Vaidyanathan (Carlin) passed each other several times but finally the driver racing under the Campos Racing banner finished ahead in seventh place. Lodovico Laurini (RP Motorsport) secured one of his best results of the season taking ninth. Meanwhile, Christian Hahn (Drivex) inherited tenth place following a last-lap clash involving Petru Florescu (Fortec Motorsports) and Tarun Reddy (Drivex).