“The Temple of Speed” hosts antepenultimate round of 2017 season


The Euroformula Open heads to Italy for another action-packed double header

The Euroformula Open is entering its decisive stage at Monza circuit to take place on 30 September-1 October. The iconic race track just north of Milan plays host to Round 6 of the series with another thrilling battle ahead. “The Temple of Speed” made its debut on the series calendar in 2009 and its longs straights always produce exciting on-track action with several drivers tucking in close behind another car.

Celso Míguez won both races on his way to second in the standings in 2009. 2010 champion Marco Barba and Víctor Correa shared the wins the following season. Local hero David Fumanelli scored one of the most brilliant wins of his career in 2011 with Alex Fontana – who later that year claimed title- taking triumph in race 2 on Sunday. Monza saw a dominant force in 2012 as Niccolò Schirò secured both wins. On the contrary, Ed Jones and Sandy Stuvik fought lively battles in 2013, the latter still adding a further two wins in 2014. Vitor Baptista and Damiano Fioravanti took the top spot on the rostrum in 2015 and finally Leonardo Pulcini carried momentum of double win at Monza before sealing title.

With six races to go, Briton Harrison Scott (RP Motorsport) sits first in the standings on 131 points. Nikita Troitskiy (Drivex) still lies second after Silverstone ahead of Ameya Vaidyanathan (Carlin). Devlin DeFrancesco (Carlin) and Thiago Vivacqua (Campos Racing) round off the top five in the standings. On the other hand, Troitskiy is still in command of rookie class on 76 points. Jannes Fittje (Fortec Motorsport) lies second on 57 points but DeFrancesco moved closer following his double win last weekend. Alex Karkosik (RP Motorsport) sits fourth ahead of Simo Laaksonen (Campos Racing).