Euroformula Open 2017 season at a glance


Another successful year for the Formula 3-based series with a field of young talented drivers proving themselves at the highest level of single-seater racing

Briton Harrison Scott claimed the title in the Euroformula Open in dominating fashion and will fight for the 2017 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award. Scott was announced as one of four finalists last month, with former EF Open driver Enaam Ahmed also in contention for one of the motorsports’ most prestigious awards. In fact, famous drivers such as David Coulthard, Oliver Gavin, Dario Franchitti, Darren Turner, Jenson Button, Anthony Davidson or Paul di Resta became winners of the McLaren Autosport BRDC Award.

After seven months, 8 exciting events visiting top-tier circuits, five race winners and eleven different drivers on the rostrum the Euroformula Open came to an end. Scott made a strong start to the season at Estoril securing a double win for RP Motorsport. On Saturday, Ameya Vaidyanathan (Carlin) and Matheus Iorio (Campos Racing) also stepped onto the podium with Nikita Troitskiy (Drivex) and Thiago Vivacqua (Campos Racing) making it to the podium in race 2.

Indian Vaidyanathan scorched to his maiden EF Open win at iconic Spa-Francorchamps with an amazing performance ahead of Scott and his teammate Devlin DeFrancesco, the latter with another Carlin-run Dallara. On Sunday, the series leader took revenge by winning race two ahead of DeFrancesco and Vivacqua.

Paul Ricard saw Scott scoring his second double-win weekend of the season ahead of Troitskiy, took second on both occasions. Vaidyanathan and Jannes Fittje (Fortec Motorsports) finished third at the French venue.

Just before the summer break, at the Hungaroring, Vivacqua led home a Campos Racing 1-2 ahead of his teammate Simo Laaksonen. Troitskiy added another podium result to his 2017 total. On Sunday, following a ninth place the previous day, Scott cruised to his 6th win of the season by beating Troitskiy and series newcomer Raoul Hyman (Campos Racing).

After an eight-week hiatus, the Euroformula Open headed to Silverstone for the second half of the season. At his home round, Scott and his RP Motorsport-entered Dallara proved an almost unbeatable combination as the local favourite winning both races. DeFrancesco came second both days. Poland’s Alex Karkosik (RP Motorsport) took his maiden podium in the series on Saturday and Fittje stepped third onto the podium in race two.

Monza’s Temple of Speed saw a similar performance coming from Scott. The Briton won both races and secured the title with still two events to go. Troitskiy finished second with Fittje, now driving for RP Motorsport, third on Saturday. Fittje recorded his season’s best result by taking a 2nd-place finish on Sunday. Laaksonen achieved another podium in race two.

Newly crowned Euroformula Open champion Scott still added two wins to his tally at the Circuito de Jerez. DeFrancesco and Troitskiy finished second and third respectively in race one. On Sunday, Troitskiy and DeFrancesco collected their second podium finishes of the weekend but the Russian driver beat DeFrancesco in race 2.

The season finale at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya was another remarkable milestone for two extremely young drivers. DeFrancesco achieved his maiden Euroformula Open win in race 1. Vaidyanathan’s second place finish secured a valuable 1-2 for Carlin with Karkosik delivering a strong performance to come third. Series newcomer Felipe Drugovich (RP Motorsport) followed up his maiden pole position on Saturday with a stunning race win on Sunday ahead of Troitskiy and Vaidyanthan.


Facts and figures:


Harrison Scott – RP Motorsport 12

Devlin DeFrancesco – Carlin 1

Ameya Vaidynathan – Carlin 1

Thiago Vivacqua – Campos Racing 1

Felipe Drugovich – RP Motorsport 1



Harrison Scott – RP Motorsport 13

Nikita Troitskiy – Drivex 9

Devlin DeFrancesco – Carlin 8

Ameya Vaidyanathan – Carlin 5

Jannes Fittje – Fortec/RP Motorsport 4

Thiago Vivacqua – Campos Racing 3

Simo Laaksonen – Campos Racing 2

Alex Karkosik – RP Motorsport 2

Matheus Iorio – Campos Racing 1

Raoul Hyman – Campos Racing 1


Rookie class wins:

Nikita Troitskiy – Drivex 7

Devlin DeFrancesco – Carlin 6

Jannes Fittje – Fortec/RP Motorsport 2

Simo Laaksonen – Campos Racing 1

Felipe Drugovich – RP Motorsport 1


Rookie class podiums:

Nikita Troitskiy – Drivex 14

Jannes Fittje – Fortec/RP Motorsport 12

Devlin DeFrancesco – Carlin 10

Simo Laaksonen – Campos Racing 4

Alex Karkosik – RP Motorsport 4

Eliseo Martínez – Teo Martín Motorsport 2

Petru Florescu – Campos Racing/Fortec Motorsports 1

Tarun Reddy – Carlin/Drivex 1

Felipe Drugovich – RP Motorsport 1


Pole positions:

Harrison Scott – RP Motorsport 11

Nikita Troitskiy – Drivex 2

Ameya Vaidyanathan – Carlin 1

Raoul Hyman – Campos Racing 1

Felipe Drugovich – RP Motorsport 1


Fastest laps:

Harrison Scott – RP Motorsport 9

Nikita Troitskiy – Drivex 4

Ameya Vaidyanathan – Carlin 2

Alex Karkosik – RP Motorsport 1


Laps led:

Harrison Scott – RP Motorsport 197

Felipe Drugovich – RP Motorsport 23

Thiago Vivacqua – Campos Racing 17

Devlin DeFrancesco – Carlin 16

Ameya Vaidyanathan – Carlin 13

Nikita Troitskiy – Drivex 5