Moroccan Michaël Benyahia confirmed for 2018 drive with RP Motorsport


The Piacenza-based team has announced the signing of Benyahia, reigning Formula Renault 2.0 NEC champion, as their fourth driver in the 2018 Euroformula Open season

RP Motorsport has announced Morocco’s Michaël Benyahia has signed with the team for the 2018 Euroformula Open campaign. Benyahia made his series debut in RP Motorsport colours at the Paul Ricard circuit and displayed talent and speed to make immediate impression in the paddock as he started from the reverse grid pole position.

The 17-year-old Benyahia was born in Miami (United States) of a Moroccan father and competes under a Moroccan flag. After a successful karting career, he graduated to single-seaters in the 2015 French F4 championship. 2016 was his second year in the series ranking 3rd with one race win and six podium finishes to his name. In 2017 Benyahia claimed the Formula Renault 2.0 NEC title. Last but not least, Venturi Formula E chose the young Moroccan ace to represent the team in the rookie test day in Marrakech becoming the youngest driver to drive the all-electric car.

Michaël Benyahia explains: "It is an honor for me to debut in the Euroformula Open Championship with an important team like RP Motorsport. I am happy to be able to face this new step in my career, which will allow me to grow and gain new experience at the wheel of very demanding and performing cars. I can't wait to get back on track and represent the flag of my country that follows me with great affection ".

Niki Rocca, Team Manager of RP Motorsport, adds: "We are very pleased to have signed an agreement with a very young and promising driver like Michaël. Already during his still short career he had the opportunity to show excellent numbers, confirmed by the excellent approach he had with this category during testing at Paul Ricard. We are convinced that we can work well together and allow him to grow further thanks to the experience of our team".

Besides Benyahia, RP Motorsport previously announced Felipe Drugovich, Guilherme Samaia and Aldo Festante.