Monza, the famed Euroformula Open’s “Temple of Speed”


The Formula 3-based racing series will head to Italy for another classic venue: the Autodromo Nazionale di Monza

The sixth round of the 2018 Euroformula Open season will take place at Monza on 22-23 September. The Italian “Tempio della velocità” is the host for the antepenultimate round of the championship. Monza is already a classic stop for the EF Open as it joined the calendar in 2009, then called F3 Open.

Celso Míguez etched his name high up in the records book by winning both race in 2009. Another Spaniard, Marco Barba on his way to title and Brazilian Víctor Correa won both races the following year. The first victory of a “local” driver came in 2011 with David Fumanelli claiming the first race. 2011 Champion Alex Fontana took win on Sunday.

Niccolò Schirò secured a double triumph to claim the title in 2012 with Ed Jones – Champion later that year- and Sandy Stuvik scoring wins in 2013. Stuvik still make his comeback to the series in 2014 and sealed the title with two wins at Monza. Vitor Baptista and Damiano Fioravanti finished on top of the podium in 2015 and, just one year later, Leonardo Pulcini managed to score a double win. Harrison Scott equaled Pulcini’s achievement by also finishing first twice at Monza at the same weekend last year.