Euroformula returns to action at high-speed Silverstone with a wealth of prominent rookies


Euroformula Open ends its summer break this weekend with a trip to Silverstone, home of the first ever Formula 1 world championship race and venue of the British Grand Prix to this day.

Considered one of the most challenging speed tracks in the world, the 5.891km circuit is full of legendary high speed corners such as Copse, Maggotts/Becketts and Stowe, and has been a fixture on the Euroformula calendar since 2013.  

This year, the high level and ambition of the championship will be demonstrated at the track as the 2018 FIA 28mm engine inlet restrictor is introduced as from round, in a move that will increase and optimize car performance.

It will be a very interesting and unusual round, as the grid at Silverstone includes a number of changes. As always at this period of the season, teams are eager to test the most promising young talents with a view to prepare their future programmes. This will provide the opportunity to see in real race conditions what some of the most prominent rookies coming from junior or far-away series are capable of.

Motopark hands European F3 debuts to Honda junior Toshiki Oyu, who stars in the Japanese F.3, alongside Red Bull-backed talent Dennis Hauger from Norway, who is currently shining in the Italian and German F.4 series. Also graduating from Formula 4 is Germany’s Niklas Krütten, while Enaam Ahmed will make a return to the Euroformula, where he raced in 2016. The Brit will have a rare occasion to race on home soil, as he currently competes in the Japanese F.3, where he has already two wins to his credit. Regular Cameron Das, from the US, completes the 5-car line-up of the German squad.

Fortec Motorsports expands its line-up to bring in, alongside Calan Williams, BRDC Formula 3 driver Manuel Maldonado from Venezuela and the younger cousin of former F.1 driver and 2012 Spanish GP winner Pastor.

Carlin will enter three cars in its home round, with local fans having the only opportunity this year to cheer for home favourite and Pau GP hero Billy Monger alongside Christian Hahn and Nicolai Kjaergaard.

Double R Racing will be present with the objective of taking over the leadership in the Rookies Trophy, with its two rookie title contenders, Linus Lundqvist and Jack Doohan, who both aim at overall race podiums.

In the absence of championship leader Sato, Austria’s Lukas Dunner will lead the charge of Teo Martín Motorsport and aim reducing the points gap in the standings and re-open the title fight.

Drivex School, the other Spanish team competing in the series, fields its regular entry for Rui Andrade.

Another British team is in action on home soil, as Welsh squad CF Racing returns to the championship for a second appearance this year with F3 Cup star Stuart Wiltshire.