Euroformula Open awarded with style at the Villa Reale of Monza


The prize-giving presentation for the three GT Sport-organised series was held at the historic and glamourous Villa Reale of Monza on Sunday night, just hours after the dramatic on-track action had ended.

Trophies were handed out for the top three in each of the classifications of Euroformula Open, GT Cup Open Europe and International GT Open, and a menu of high-level gastronomy was provided by Michelin-starred chef Luigi Taglienti from Lume Restaurant in Milan, as part of the Michelin Gastronomy Experience held throughout the season.

“It has been a really amazing season,” said GT Sport CEO Jesus Pareja on stage. “The level of the drivers, the level of the teams, I think we can be very proud of organising it all together and to have a big chance to manage one of the best racing groups in the world. Our 2020 calendar has the top race track`s in Europe. We have to learn from our mistakes this year, and I think then all three series will be better than ever, especially Euroformula Open with its new car, which will be a reference for single-seaters in Europe.”

The Royal Spanish Federation of Racing (RFEdA)  which officiates the GT Sport championships was represented by club vice president Joaquín Verdegay, who commented: “It really is a honour and a pleasure to be here today, and for many years. To be here on behalf of the Spanish federation is important, because we are very proud of working with GT Sport. I enjoyed the races today, and there is an incredible level of competition you can find on the three series. Thank you Jesús, all the sponsors and workers that make this motorsport dream possible for the Spanish federation, and thank you to all the stewards and officials, who make these incredible races possible.”

Greig Coull, Michelin Customer Racing Director, also stressed the quality of the three series, recalling “how important is for Michelin to have a close partnership with GT Sport and how much we have grown together as a racing platform.”

Five Euroformula drivers were awarded during the evening, with the top three in the overall standings (Marino Sato, Liam Lawson and Lukas Dunner) being joined by the top three in the Rookie Trophy (Lawson, Linus Lundqvist and Yuki Tsunoda) and teams champion Motopark, represented by team principal Timo Rumpfkeil.

“Thanks everyone in GT Sport for the warm welcome,” Rumpfkeil said. “It was a pretty tough winter for us, having to change championship, but we felt very warm in Euroformula immediately. We had great season, but more drivers than we intended to bring, so we had to change drivers mid-season! Thank you to the team, who are all hard working guys. They get to the paddock earliest in the morning and are the last to leave. You literally work your butts off.”

Euroformula returns next March for the 2020 Winter Series ar Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya and Circuit Paul Ricard.