Spanish F3 Championship created within the Euroformula Open


The six races of the Portimão, Jerez and Barcelona rounds will be taken into consideration for the series

GT Sport today announced the launch of a Spanish F3 Championship within the Euroformula Open series it organizes. The six races of the Portimão (7-8 June), Jerez (21-22 June) and Barcelona (18-19 October) rounds will serve as basis for the competition.

The decision stems from the desire of the Spanish Motorsports Federation (RFEA) not to discontinue the “Campeonato de España de F.3” that was created in 2001 by GT Sport. The Spanish F.3 title has always existed and was always awarded by the RFEA since then, even in the years after 2009, when the series changed its name into European F.3 Open following its internalization.

Jesús Pareja, CEO of GT Sport, commented: “We gladly responded to the wish expressed by RFEA, the Spanish Federation, not to see the Campeonato de España de F.3, which we launched together in 2001, disappear following the entry into force of the new rules regarding series using F.3 cars. I think having the possibility to compete for an extra title will be extremely attractive for the Euroformula Open drivers and teams, which have been informed of the development today at the Algarve.”