Crawford ends Euroformula season with victory


The 2021 Euroformula season concluded at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya with a victory for Motopark’s Jak Crawford, while Louis Foster secured the title runner-up spot.

Crawford started from pole position and led away to assert a lead early on as new champion and team-mate Cameron Das moved around the outside of CryptoTower Racing Team’s Foster at turn one to take second place.

The positions remained unchanged at the front end of the field from there, with Crawford opening up a 2.4-second gap over his fellow American to end the year with his eighth win.

“It was a more simple race,” said Crawford, referring to how he contended with gearbox issues en route to race two victory earlier in the day.

“I think Louis got a better start than the last race and I sort of chopped him off a bit to hold my position. It was a good race. I managed to pull a gap quite early on and then stabilise the gap. I think I made one mistake through the race on the first lap. Happy with the race and happy with the whole season."

Foster finished third, while Cem Bölükba┼či (Van Amersfoort Racing) moved up to fifth place in the championship standings by holding off Christian Mansell (Motopark) for fourth in the race.

Enzo Trulli (Carlin) was sixth, ahead of Josh Mason (Double R Racing), Nazim Azman (CryptoTower), Casper Stevenson (VAR) and Sebastian Álvarez (Double R). It was Rafael Villagomez (VAR) who picked up the final point, after a clash with Filip Kaminiarz (CryptoTower) that sent the latter down to last place behind Drivex duo Enzo Scionti and Dexter Patterson, Brad Benavides (Carlin) and Francesco Simonazzi (BVM Racing).