Former Euroformula stars harvest titles and wins in tin top series too


Euroformula Open graduates are not only shining in the top single-seater championships, like Formula 1 or Indycar, but also at the highest level of tin-top competitions. The 2021 season is a good proof of how successful some of the Euroformula Open alumni are being at the highest level of competition in Sportscars, GT and Touring car racing, as proven by the following four examples.

Ferdinand Habsburg, who was EFO Vice Champion in 2016, was crowned last weekend FIA World Endurance LMP2 Champion, at the wheel of a Team WRT Oreca 07 Gibson shared with Robin Frijns and Charles Milesi. It has been a great year for the Austrian, who also took the LMP2 victory at the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

EFO 2020 Champion Yifei Ye, also driving for Team WRT along Robert Kubica and Louis Delétraz, delivered equally well, taking the European Le Mans Series title. Earlier in the season, the Chinese also won the Asian Le Mans Series title.

Liam Lawson, an EFO Vice Champion in 2020, finished second in the prestigious DTM, which uses GT3 machinery since this year, at the wheel of an AF Corse Ferrari 488. The New-Zealander is considered to be the ‘moral winner’ of the championship, having being beaten only in the last round following an incident caused by his most direct rival.

In Touring car racing, Santiago Urrutia, 4th in the then Euro F3 Open in 2013, is now one of the established top stars of the FIA WTCR, driving for Cyan Performance Lynk Co. The Uruguayan took his second race win last weekend in Italy and currently lies 4th in the standings, with two races to go.