Euroformula graduates Drugovich and Lundqvist champions in F2 and Indy Lights


Last Sunday, on the same weekend, Euroformula Open graduates were crowned in the series that are the last step before Formula 1 and Indycar.

Felipe Drugovich, the 2018 Euroformula Open champion, conquered the Formula 2 title, one round before the end, after a season where the MP Motorsport driver clinched 5 wins, 5 podium finishes and 4 pole positions.

Few hours later, the Brazilian was announced as the test and development driver for AMF1 next season. He will make his Formula 1 debut, with Aston Martin, at free practice of the forthcoming Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, becoming the fourth former EFO driver to appear in F.1 this year, alongside championship regulars Carlos Sainz and Yuki Tsunoda, and Liam Lawson, who made an FP1 debut with Alpha Tauri at Spa.

In the United States, Linus Lundqvist, who finished 5th in the 2020 Euroformula Open, conquered the Indy Lights title, also before the end of the championship,  driving for HMD Motorsports. His 2022 campaign so far includes 5 wins, 9 podiums and 7 poles. The Swede is now very likely to ascend to Indycar next year. The top American single-seater series already count in its ranks EFO graduates such as Indycar’s 2021 champion Alex Palou, Colin Herta and Ed Jones.

GT Sport and the Euroformula Open extend its warmest congratulations to Drugovich and Lundqvist on their achievements, which prove once more the value of the Euroformula Open as a training platform and its role in the single-seater formulae.