Oliver Goethe and CryptoTower Racing Team celebrated in style at 2022 Awards Ceremony in Madrid


The Euroformula Open Champion, Oliver Goethe (Motopark), and the winner of the Teams’ Trophy, CryptoTower Racing Team, represented by Timo Rumpfkeil, have been celebrated Saturday evening in a glamorous GT Sport Awards Ceremony held at the Hotel Mandarin Oriental Ritz in Madrid, alongside the winners of the other GT Sport-promoted series, the International GT Open and the GT Cup Europe.

The event was presided by Manuel Aviñó, President of the Royal Spanish Automobile Federation (RFEdA) and FIA Vice President, accompanied by Joaquín Verdegay, RFEdA Vice President.

The hundred guests could enjoy the dinner proposed by Deessa, the two-Michelin star restaurant of the Hotel Mndarin Oriental Ritz, thanks to the support of Michelin, the official tyre supplier of GT Sport Series. In his address, Julien Vial, Head of Michelin Customer Racing, underlined how “two different worlds such as motor racing and gastronomy do share the same values of excellence, perfection in execution and care for the detail.”

Jesús Pareja, CEO of GT Sport, stated: “The show and the quality in 2022 have been top class despite a difficult season in terms of numbers. We are working hard to reduce costs and are seeing interest from new teams. We are completely committed to the Euroformula. We strongly believe in our product, the calendar and the car, which is recognized as the best in its category, and we have the strength of our 20-year experience in F.3-based formulae.”

Commenting on Goethe’s success, Pareja added: “Ollie showed tremendous talent this year and I’m sure that in a couple of years, he will be knocking at the door of Formula 1, to join other former EFO drivers, like Saniz and Tsunoda, or Drugovich, Palou, Doohan and Lawson who all have third or test driver status. This, and the success of Palou, Herta and Jones in the US, prove the validity of the Euroformula as a training platform. We have here tonight Leo Pulcini as the GT Open co-champion. He is a former Euroformula champion too and a good example of the so many EFO drivers that have reached professional and works driver status in sportscar, GT and touring cars.”

The gala wrapped up in style the 2022 edition of the Euroformula Open; more fun to come next year!